Locked Lips Tell No Lies – Extract 14

Plato helped me hobble outside, and I spent a few miserable hours in A&E, having my wounds stitched and bandaged. The silence Theo and I shared was insufferable, and I was glad to be out of her company when we returned to the house for the second time that day. I limped towards the stairs: then paused to eavesdrop on Plato and Theo’s conversation in the kitchen.

“The weirdest thing happened when you were out. I was cleaning up the glass on the floor when a shadow appeared on the wall in front of me. I thought it might be Bacchus, and so I turned around to see a deep black human-shaped figure leave the room. It was darker than darkness itself. I went and checked on Bacchus but he was snoring away in bed, completely out for the count. I was probably just seeing things, but it unnerved me a little.”

“So you’ve seen it too?”

“Yeah I think so.”

“What do you think it could be?”

“I’m not sure, but it looks more like a woman’s figure.”

Author:

Amber R Walker, Hull, Creative Writer, Bookmaker, Lover of art

Leave a Reply

