Locked Lips Tell No Lies – Extract 15

We went out to Theo’s car and I climbed into it through the passenger’s door and wound down the window against the heat that wouldn’t budge. It crawled over my face in sticky rivulets, comfortingly close, resisting any attempt to be lured away. I put my head back on the seat, the engine started, and we began the drive down narrow country lanes: I once again admiring the fluorescent blossom floating on the glossy hedges, the crisp poisonous glow of the grass and the blue of the postcard view sky. A rock song rumbled low on the radio, trickling notes in a magnetic lull. I supposed I could enjoy being out in the car with Theo, in a kind of idle half-hearted way. She glanced over and grinned – glad I was there with her I guess, but also kind of wary in how she measured me up. 

Author:

Amber R Walker, Hull, Creative Writer, Bookmaker, Lover of art

Leave a Reply

